Archaeological Standing Building Recording Gloucester

Border Archaeology was to carry out an Archaeological Standing Building Recording (ASBR) of the stable block and kennel range at, Snowshill, Broadway, Gloucestershire ahead of their demolition and construction of new buildings.

In Brief

Client: Architectural Practice Sector: Construction Services:

Archaeological Standing Building Recording

Location: Gloucestershire

Key Points

  • Programme of archaeological standing building recording
  • Two buildings recorded: stable block and kennels
  • Historic 17th -18th century Oat hill Farmhouse
  • Significant landscape to the communities; Oat Hill within the Cotswolds National Landscape

Summary

Two buildings were the subject of this programme of ASBR, a kennel and a stable block, located to the SW of Oat hill Farmhouse, an historic farmhouse of 17th-18th century origin but considered a non-designated heritage asset.

The stable block was a detached, rectangular, single storey masonry and timber structure with a gabled timber roof covered in corrugated asbestos. It was situated towards the SW of the farmhouse and it might have been built in the 19th century as it is depicted in both an 1815 and 1884 Ordnance Survey Maps.

The Kennel building was located behind the former stables and was an L-shaped single storey range brick construction, with a concrete tiled roof.

Results

This ASBR reflected the Historic England/RCHME guidance and was undertaken in accordance with standards set by the Chartered Institute for Field Archaeologists, the specific methodology was based on Historic England/RCHME level 2 record, and it comprised a drawn record, a photographic record and a written account of the aforementioned buildings.

The outbuildings subjected to recording comprised a rectangular NE-SW aligned Stable block and an L-plan Kennel range, both of single storey height and located to the SW of Oat Hill Farmhouse, with the kennels located on a raised terrace to the SE of the Stables.

The Stable was most likely built in the mid-late 19th century which was present on the OS 1st edition 25-inch Map of 1884.

The Kennels, which were a three bay gabled red-brick range aligned NW-SE were built between 1902 and 1923.